DAGUPAN CITY – For their exemplary performance in various fields of service, the top-performing barangays of Dagupan City are each set to receive P300,000 worth of project incentives from the Dagupan City government.

The performance incentives for each barangay consist of items or equipment that can be used by them for disaster preparedness, according to Mayor Belen T. Fernandez during the Barangay Night held at the city plaza on December 27.

Fernandez added that the incentives were provided for in a resolution authored by Councilor Maybelyn Dela Cruz Fernandez which allocated P5-million budget for barangay disaster preparedness projects.

The performance incentive is in addition to the Unliserbisyo Excellence Award conferred to the barangays “for their outstanding performance towards good governance and upholding the standards of transparency, integrity and service delivery through governance reform and sustained development.”

Patterned after the Seal of Good Local Governance, the award is given to barangays that excelled in six core areas, namely: social protection, environmental management, peace and order, financial administration, disaster preparedness and business-friendliness.

Barangay Caranglaan was adjudged as most outstanding barangay under the big barangay category. It was joined by barangays Malued, Pantal, Bonuan Gueset, Lucao and Bonuan Boquig.

In the small barangay category, Tebeng was named most outstanding along with Pugaro, Pogo Chico, IV and Lasip Grande.

Meanwhile, other barangays that successfully met the SGLG requirements are also set to receive P100,000 worth of project incentives.

The citations were awarded by Pangasinan Fourth District Rep. Christopher de Venecia, Mayor Belen Fernandez, Councilor Maybelyn Dela Cruz-Fernandez and Liga ng mga Barangay President Dean Bryan Kua.

Also present during the ceremonies were Senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr., Bacoor Mayor Lani Mercado-Revilla, Former House Speaker Jose de Venecia, Jr. and former Congresswoman Gina de Venecia, city councilors and department heads.

In the same occasion, winners of this year’s Search for the Best Belen competition were also announced during the event.

Barangay Caranglaan, adjudged as first place, received P50,000; Barangay Bolosan, second place, P30,000  and  Barangay Bonuan Boquig received P20,000 as third placer. (Verdelle De Vera/CIO)