2018 DSPC KICK OFF – Mayor Belen T. Fernandez (6th from left) is shown with the newly inducted officers of Campus Journalists’ Association (Secondary) headed by Francine Pradez (5th from left) of Dagupan City National High School (DCNHS) during the 2018 Division Schools Press Conference held at CSI Stadia from November 8 to 9. At least 1,500 young campus journalists joined this year’s DSPC at CSI Stadia, marking a two-fold increase in the student turnout from last year’s 700. This is the first DCSC conducted with sponsorship from the city government, thus requiring no registration fees to be collected. Winners of this year’s DSPC will advance to the 2018 Regional Schools Press Conference to be held in Lingayen, Pangasinan. Also in photo are Schools Division Superintendent Dr. Lorna Bugayong (center, right), Asst. SDS Dr. Lourdes Servito (6th from right), Chief Education Supervisor Dr. Venus Estonillo of the Curriculum Implementation Division (far left) and CJA Vice-President and 2017 “Manlingkor Ya Kalangweran” young city mayor Jillian Kaye Fernandez of the Pangasinan Universal Insitute (center). (CIO photo by Jojo Tamayo)

DAGUPAN CITY – The Department of Education (DepEd) – Schools Division Office (SDO) Dagupan, in partnership with the city government, conducted the 2018 Division Schools Press Conference at CSI Stadia on November 8 to 9.

The DSPC is an annual competition for young aspiring journalists to develop their skills in public communication as well as to promote responsible journalism.

With the theme of “Fostering 21st Century Skills and Character-Based Education through Campus Journalism”, this year’s DSPC also encourages the use of new technology in their journalistic approaches.

Sponsored by the city government, this year’s conference is joined by at least 1,500 students from 11 districts of public and private schools. This is considered a huge increase compared to last year’s 700.

Seasoned journalists from various fields  provided lectures for the participants before the competitions. The activities on the first day include Newswriting, Photojournalism, Editorial Cartooning, Feature Writing, Editorial Writing, Sports Writing, Copy Reading and Headline Writing, Science and Technology Writing.

On the second day, lectures and competitions were held for Collaborative and Desktop Publishing, Radio Broadcasting, and Script Writing, TV Broadcasting and Script Writing, Online Publishing.

Winners of this year’s DSPC will advance to the 2018 Regional Schools Press Conference to be held in Lingayen, Pangasinan. (Verdelle De Vera/CIO)