DAGUPAN CITY – The Balon Dagupan Children’s Choir (BDCC) qualified for the 2017 National Music Competitions for Young Artists (NMCYA) finals following whole-day competitions for choirs and rondalla groups in the North Luzon region held in Baguio City on September 2.


BDCC will compete for the national finals on November 26 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) along with the other finalists all over the Philippines.


NAMCYA aims on discovering and developing outstanding young Filipino musicians and artists in the country and is held every two years.


This year’s competition will be on solo instruments, which include senior voice, senior piano, senior strings, solo rondalla A and senior woodwinds and brasses; and group categories, which include  rondalla ensemble youth; children’s choir; adult choir and traditional music ensemble A.


Virginia Llamas-Mendoza, BDCC conductor and city’s music consultant, disclosed that the BDCC is now composed of 24 students aged 14 years old and below. These young artists are enrolled in different public and private schools in the city.


They are Aaron Van M. Meneses of West Central Elementary School; Adanna P. Villamil, Alleya Vanna M. Meneses, Alloida Yssa Bele P. De Guzman, and April Joy G. Oliveras of Saint John Cathedral School; Alexa R. Torres and Angel M. Gutlay of JJDVS Tech-Voc Secondary School; Althea Lei Jewei L. De Leon, Bianca Yvessa A. Sindayen, Celeste N. Goroza, Drixsey Maye De Venecia, Gensheal Ira P. Hortaleza, Sohee M. Cho and Tiffany B. Cabrera of Dagupan City National High School; Andrei Von M. Hortaleza of Malued Elementary School; Angelica S. Bustillo and Juriel Gianna Verania of East Central Integrated School; Brent Paolo S. Sotto of Edna’s School; Chrystelle Jeyd Q. Mejia of LNU Creative Montessori Center; Jann Klein Ll. Mendoza of La Marea Academy; Janine Mae D. Munoz of Bolosan Elementary School; Joseph Raphael C. Lim and Mary Krystal Nicole O. Llamas of Saint Albert the Great School.


There are other members of BDCC who, unfortunately, will not be joining the NAMCYA because of age limit. These  are Euscheka Nichole L. Soriano of Saint John Cathedral School, Jann Trix Ll. Mendoza of Mother Goose Special Science High School, Kristelle Anne Jane R. Selby and Marian Krissa D. Bangsal  of Wonderland School, and Regine Erica M. Hortaleza. (Joseph C. Bacani/CIO/Sept. 5, 2017)