DAGUPAN CITY – The screening committee of the 2017 Mr. and Ms. Balon Dagupan has already completed the list of the 24 candidates who qualified for the contest, which is one of the innovations in the city’s month-long fiesta this December.


The candidates were screened in casual and swim wears and hurdled the question and answer portion last Nov. 18.


Six judges took turns in asking questions who also  rated each candidate according to the beauty of their faces, beauty of their figures, poise and personality.


Epee Rafanan of the Dagupan City Fiesta Executive Committee disclosed that the final 24 candidates for Mr and Ms Balon Dagupan were the best of the crop in this year’s pageant.


Rafanan noted that the candidates are well aware of the developments that are taking place in the city based on their answers to questions from the board of judges.


Among the top three answers of the candidates were the noticeable traffic improvement with the installation of  traffic lights, re-development of Tondaligan and the various infrastructures being undertaken by the administration of Mayor Belen T. Fernandez.


Composing the final 12 of the Mr. Balon Dagupan candidates are Mark Ericson M. Sison, Kim Kenneth D. Cristobal, Moses Gan, Virgil Cendaña, Makheos P. Qiambao, Syed Zoriel de Leon, Patrick Jay O. Barlod, James Lee R. Sabado, Jayson Salvatierra, Benedict Ramos, Frenchworth Solano and Chrisdine A. Fung.


The final 12 candidates for Ms. Balon Dagupan are Shaima Rashed Gad, Karla Zabala, Nicole Kate Valencerina, Mariah Kate S. Chavez, Grace Joy L. Ibasco, Gerina Chanel J. Ancheta, Colleen Iris B. Cayabyab, Mary Angelic Dimalanta, Pauline DV. Casilang, Rose Ann M. Hortaleza, Trixie Soriano and Princess Villanueva.


The candidates, who are at least 17 but nor more than 25 years old, will compete  according to intelligence, beauty of their faces and figure, poise and personality during the pre-pageant night at CSI Atrium on December 8 and during the pageant night on December 15 at the city plaza. (Joseph C. Bacani/CIO/Nov. 21, 2017)